Spiti Travelogue: Day 14

Back Where We Began: Home sweet home at last!

All this time, the wheels of our train were constantly bringing us closer and closer to our home. At last, we reached Pune! Wherever you go in the world, there is no place like home! Moreover, after such an extraordinary trip, this was as true as ever.

We waited to develop our film rolls, and share them and our experiences with friends and family. I decided to write this travelogue because I felt too many things were missing from verbal narratives. It has been a different pleasure altogether to write about our trip.

We all met again on the weekend when all of us were in Pune – recounting our memories, reliving our experiences, sharing our thoughts and planning for future trips back to the Himalayas…

Share this post :

8 thoughts on “Spiti Travelogue: Day 14

  1. Hi Mahendra,

    I am happy to know that you enjoyed my blog… as I did yours, about Spiti. I also relived my trip to Spiti in 2004 via your blog. It was a nice 3 week long trip for me, in which i trekked a lot. Going alone can be lot of fun, as i found.. and i guess you too had fun there with friends. You write a hundred times better than me, and you write a lot, whereas i am too lazy… I too was hoping to write about my spiti, bhutan, kedar taal, and other trips… god knows when that day will come…

    I have been to Chandrataal now 4 times, and now i am totally fed up with it. its been totally commercialized, with the road reaching the lake totally now, as i found out in july 2006. Better not go there now. Spend time going to Mane lake in Spiti, or Tso Moriri, Tso Kar, or Pangong in Ladakh.

    This was supposed to be a mail or a comment i don’t know… couldn’t find ur mail address… Keep blogging.. you are good at it… will read ur other stuff too one day.. busy right now…

    Cheers,
    Nitin.

  2. Hi Nitin,

    Thanks for your comments and compliments!

    And my goodness, I didn’t know about all these changes near Chandrataal…couldn’t even imagine! What a waste…thanks so much for the updates, really appreciate it.

    Look forward to reading more of your blog too…

    Cheers, Mahendra

  3. Congrats, Mahendra. A very well edited write up, this Spti travelogue.

    The photographs are good, particularly those snapped indoors in that they capture all minute details of gompas. Kye monastory photograph is mystical. If only the entire background mountain had gone shaded, Ah!

  4. Dr. Prashar: thank you very much for the compliments! I’m glad you enjoyed reading my travelogue. You are right in a way, if the Ki monastery background would’ve been completely shaded it would’ve made a better capture, but I don’t know if the light would have been sufficient in that case.

    Yes, indeed it is mystical. It was a hypnotic sight. I wish I could’ve captured more photos! That was difficult sine we were traveling in the jeep, when I clicked this one snap.

    And as I mentioned, some of the monastery interiors were not visible to us when we were there. We only saw them when we developed the photographs afterwards! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks again for your comments.

  5. Greetings Mahendra,
    Whow you write so well and words were in such flowing mannerism. I enjoyed reading your Spiti trek details. When it came to Chandratal part – I really got excited as I so much want to visit that part…however the comment made by Nitin is so disheartening…yikes…!
    I haven’t been able to find a travelling partner till now for Spiti…so I think next year it will be just me.. !! I think I will be taking all the notes from your narration…hope its ok.
    I can spend hours and hours reading about travel bits…so will check out your Himalaya post as well, sometime later though – today completing all 14 parts in one go…was good!
    Keep writing…
    Peace always ~

  6. Greetings, bendtherulz!

    Thank you for your kind words. I’m glad you enjoyed reading it.

    Yes, Nitin’s update is quite disheartening. As he suggested, you should probably check out other options.

    It’s quite shocking you’re not finding a partner! Just post on a few Indian group travel sites and you’ll find takers.

    Absolutely no problem with taking notes or printouts from my travelogue for personal use. I would be glad if its of any help to other travelers!

    Keep visiting, I’ll keep writing ๐Ÿ™‚ Peace.

Comments are closed.