Philosophical Health Check

I took yet-another-interesting self-test called the Philosophical Health Check (PHC).

“The PHC is designed to identify tensions or contradictions (a Tension Quotient) between various beliefs that you have. The PHC does not aim to identify which of your beliefs are true or false, but where the set of beliefs you hold may not be compatible with each other.

The PHC report below lists pairs of beliefs which are identified as being ‘in tension’. What this means is either that: (1) There is a contradiction between the two beliefs or (2) Some sophisticated reasoning is required to enable both beliefs to be held consistently. In terms of action, this means in each case you should either (1) Give up one of the two beliefs or (2) Find some rationally coherent way of reconciling them.

It may help to think of the idea of ‘tension’ in terms of an intellectual balancing act. Where there is little or no tension between beliefs, little intellectual effort is required to balance both beliefs. But where there is a lot of tension, either one has to ‘jump off the tightrope’, by abandoning one belief; maintain one’s balance by intellectual effort and dexterity; or else ‘fall off the tightrope’ by failing to reconcile the tension and holding contradictory beliefs.”

My Tension Quotient = 0%

No tensions!

The average player of this activity to date has a Tension Quotient of 28%.

8468 of the 117014 people who have completed this activity also have no tensions in their belief system.

There are a number of possible explanations for the fact that you have no tensions in your beliefs:
1. You have a very consistent set of beliefs;
2. You have very few beliefs – and consequently answered none or only a few of the questions!
3. You’ve done this test before!

PS: Update: My apologies for not acknowledging the source from where I came to know about this test. It was from
Ergo’s blog.

3 thoughts on “Philosophical Health Check

  1. It is internet courtesy to acknowledge the online source of your content with a link or a ping back. Regarding your understand of the word “discrimination,” I have posted a response to your comment on my post.

  2. I scored 7%. I think this is an interesting quiz, but in some ways it’s kind of limited because the options are so general. #8, for instance: what constitutes “evidence”? Or #4: just how often is it justified to take another person’s life? Under what circumstances? It seems like there may be more or less tension depending on how some of these terms are defined. 🙂

  3. Ergo: my apologies – I’ve updated the post to acknowledge your blog, from where I came to know about this test. I usually don’t miss out on acknowledgements (see my previous post), I don’t know how I missed it this time.

    The Imugi: I agree. But I guess all such tests are faced with this challenge. Considering the various self-tests I’ve given so far, this one was quite credible and interesting. The ambiguities are of course present, hence one shouldn’t take these test results too seriously!

Comments are closed.