Traffic Road Sign in Pune, India

Traffic Road Sign at Pashan, Pune, India

17 thoughts on “Traffic Road Sign in Pune, India

  1. This is so true!

    I think if India started enforcing laws against littering, then people will become more responsible. We know that if we litter in a developed country there would be a hefty fine to pay, which acts as a mighty deterrent.

    If people lack civic sense, then it has to be enforced, i would say.

  2. Mahendra, I don’t understand this message. It sounds cute and gossip-able, but who are we kidding? It’s not a problem of littering, its the ‘not-my-job’ attitude we have for most other things.

    It should rather say something like “Think of the city as your home, do you litter in your house?”

  3. Enforcing laws?! We’re so short of ‘enforcement officials’ (police), that we can’t even enforce traffic laws that apply to the hundreds of thousands of vehicle drivers. Littering laws would apply to millions and millions of people…who would enforce them and how?!

  4. Thanks…this is at Pashan Circle, Pune! It was put up on the road leading to the Commonwealth Youth Games 2008, hoping it will make a difference. Needless to say, it has not…

    I wonder how NRIs take it. I’ve always observed the difference in the way Indians behave outside and in India…is hypocrisy or double-standards the correct term to use?

  5. Priyank, there’s nothing to understand! This was put up during the ‘beautification drive’ of Pashan area that was one of the key arterial routes leading to the Commonwealth Youth Games 2008.

    I loved your replacement quote – it is really meaningful and has good impact!

    The placement of this sign is on a road where pedestrians are mostly illiterate and wouldn’t be able to read it anyway. The educated classes are zipping by in their cars and are not likely to litter there. On top of all this, the road is now used couple of times a week for a street vegetable market, so you can imagine the state of the road!

  6. Nita:

    You will be surprised to see how much rubbish (packaging, tissues etc) I routinely carried around in a small plastic bag within my handbag/ laptop case when I was in India – yes, long before I became an NRI, everybody’s favourite fallguy in India. I would inevitably bring the rubbish home and dispose of it in my own dustbin.

    I see things are just the same if not worse now that my sampling of Indian cities is less frequent.

  7. Priyank

    To clean one’s house and to throw the dust or rubbish on the streets is a great Indian trait, which I observed particularly in large cities like Delhi and Bangalore.

    In the small cities, where I grew up, a cleaner (typically an untouchable for whom special glasses and cups were reserved in the most ‘educated’ and ‘civilised’ families) came by with a barrow and took the rubbish from homes to a central tip. It is not a great, ‘green’ practice but even now some of the modern western nations recycle only half or less of their rubbish… In fact on a recent trip to my dad’s town I noticed that it is the government that fails people even when the people have good intentions and a strong civic sense. Homes and small side streets were clean and well swept and there were even some small bins around. But the sewers and drains were open!

    In short, your suggested replacement tagline would lead to even more havoc. At least in the current form, the villain is clear. 😉

  8. Mahendra

    I was in Pune briefly for a day in January. The city is more clean than most other cities I visited on the trip. The driver told me that the stretch from the airport to Le Meridien is exceptional but later we went to Tata Motors also and then left the city by the expressway and with a few exceptions, Pune was more orderly than most other cities.

    The sign either works or is redundant 🙂

  9. Priyank, as Mahendra said that is not what I meant. As for the sign, I think the sign is a clear message. It is not just talking to NRI’s because today most Indians have visited foreign countries so it applies to everyone. In fact in one his speeches the ex president Kalam had mentioned this very fact. That Indians when they go abroad do not litter, but they litter in their own country.

    Shefaly, yeah Pune is cleaner than many Indian cities but there are beautification drives off and one. And I think there are a few people like you who are very conscious about not to litter but they are few and far between! And I am not talking of just NRI’s but amongst the general population.

  10. Shefaly, Pune is indeed cleaner, but more chaotic in terms of traffic especially in the older, central parts of the city.

    But whenever I visit other metros in India, I am still glad I live in Pune. Chaotic traffic is preferable to filth any day!

Comments are closed.