An Unquiet Mind of A Social Geek

Take a look at these numbers:

  • This is my 267th post.
  • There are 2962 authentic comments on this blog.
  • My posts have 203 tags in 39 categories.
  • Total views crossed 100K quite a while back.
    These numbers usually don’t mean much to me. But I always use a trick while climbing a mountain. When I am exhausted and feel like I can’t go up any further, I turn and look the other way around. Seeing how much ground we’ve covered and how much height we’ve attained, is a re-energizing technique that works.
    However, the need to look at these numbers now did not arise because I’m exhausted writing on this blog. Since I started An Unquiet Mind over two years back, I have written exclusively here. And now I’ve come to a fork in my path.300px-Janus-Vatican
    Discounting my professional writing at MakeUseOf.com, I have decided to start a separate personal blog exclusively focused on technology, specifically social networking and social media websites and technologies.
    Since I began a writing career, I realized that being an early adopter of new technologies, I needed to participate in online communities of like-minded technology enthusiasts and industry influencers.
    While Twitter has been one vehicle to achieve this, FriendFeed has been more empowering. To retain the intellectual flavor of An Unquiet Mind undiluted, I decided to post technology related content separately. Also, it did not make sense to direct the 90K+ MakeUseOf subscribers interested in cool websites, software, and internet tips to An Unquiet Mind!
    Since I am known as the Social Geek in these tech circles, my technology blog is of A Social Geek. I chose Posterous rather than WordPress as a platform since it’s flexibility suits my needs better. Feel free to follow/subscribe to A Social Geek if you’re so inclined. Posts from there are also displayed in the sidebar here. Thus, my blogs reflects my two personae on Twitter – @SocialGeek maps to A Social Geek, @Palsule maps here.
    At this milestone I also decided to experiment with a different theme, primarily for one reason: it gave me the push to do the necessary housekeeping of this blog that has been on the backburner for a while. I have reorganized my categories, which are now displayed at the top. Hovering your mouse over them reveals sub-categories too.
    I think this will help An Unquiet Mind remain unquiet about things that matter. I think unquiet minds rule over matter, but never mind.

Image: Janus, the two-faced Roman god of beginnings and endings.

12 thoughts on “An Unquiet Mind of A Social Geek

  1. Mahendra, it is a good idea to make a separate blog for tech issues as that is a field that not everyone is interested in. And yes, I have noticed that techy people are not interested in the more general blogs. But I hope that you don’t give up writing here as this expresses who you are.
    And congrats on reaching the various milestones.

  2. Nita, thanks. My number of posts has reduced, but no, I will not give it up. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting. It’s old-time blogger friends like you who keep this blog going.

  3. I recently went through the motions to know whether I should merge my blogs (reverse of what you have done). I agree with Nita, that people come to a blog looking for x and when they find something else, it usually is a dampener. While categories help organise, the genre of the blog is a very defining characteristic. Thanks for pointing me to storytlr, not sure how many people use it – but it helps those who follow the person, rather than a blog.

    Good move!

  4. Atul, my two blogs have completely different personalities and audiences! So I had to take this step. For your kind of multiple blogs, I think StoryTlr is the perfect choice, since I believe one can sense the same Atul within all of them. 🙂

    I have also aggregated both my blog personae together into a single site – both at http://mahendrapalsule.mp (using chi.mp) and at http://socialgeek.storytlr.com, but am still holding back on advertising them fully. Thanks for visiting!

  5. Hi Mahendra,
    This was inevitable and congrats for giving birth to a new blog. It will be immensely useful from a professional perspective too, since you’ll be able to showcase your work and connect to people when you start working as a social media consultant, which I see happening sooner than later. A similar thought had crossed my mind when I separated the travel blog, but I’ve discovered that my personal blog gets a step motherly treatment now. Nothing intentional, but it takes efforts to run two blogs for sure. So while I think that I’ll follow your techie blog to a limited extent, I’ll be looking for your personal rambles on this space as always.
    cheers,
    Priyank

  6. He he, thanks Priyank, but ‘social media consultant’ is a much-abused phrase that is now shunned, so I definitely don’t want to be one! 🙂

    Yes, I did notice you posting more and more on the travel blog in the past few months. Thanks for the feedback!

  7. I agree, sometimes Motivation is not how far you can go, but how far you have come. I quote that line to a big shot manager once (in my first job) when prodding him for my appraisal/role change. 😉

    Later, I realised I needn’t had bothered, but my hackles used to be raised during those days. I have forgotten what my stats look like now, but I too think of them at times I want to give up blogging. well, no, to be honest, I don’t want to give up blogging.

Comments are closed.